Posted by: Andra Liwag | May 9, 2012

We’re On Our Own & Creating Healthy Lifestyles

The BL gang during our last “prison yard” workout with Bryan. I miss our team workouts, but am staying strong on my own, too!

May has always been the month that most of us NSU 2012 Biggest Loser participants have been anticipating with mixed feelings. That’s because our structured Monday, Wednesday, Friday workout schedule with trainers and teammates, group nutrition meetings, and group Guided Change meetings have come to an end.

We’re on our own! It’s bittersweet, and scary but exciting. Now’s the time to see what we’ve learned, and put together our own plans to make our health and fitness lifestyle changes stick.

For me, that means smaller daily bursts of exercise that better fit into my work and school schedule instead of longer sessions 3 times a week. So far, I’ve been doing cardio nearly every day for about 30 to 60 minutes either by walking, riding my stationary bike, doing a DVD, taking a Group X class, or doing yard work.

After most cardio sessions, I’ve been working in toning videos I’ve found on SparkPeople, and I’m about to start a new Kettle Worx strength training DVD set (buyer’s tip: these sets are MUCH cheaper at Target, but they only sell them in the actual stores and not online!)

All in all, I’m working out 20 to 70 minutes a day, give or take, instead of 3 times a week for 90 minutes, but my weekly calorie burn is averaging out to just about the same. Though I miss working out with our trainers, my Blue Team, and the larger group, for right now the shorter bursts of cardio and strength training I’m doing seem to be keeping me on track.

And I need to stay on track. Although I’ve lost more than 10 pounds so far, my goal is to be down another 20 by the end of July, which is a date I picked with my endocrinologist. He’s thrilled I’ve made so much progress despite PCOS and other setbacks, and so am I. Both of us believe I’ll make it through the rest of the Biggest Loser program strong, and keep going beyond the program until I’ve reached my body’s ultimate level of wellness.

Of course, a big part of that also involves nutrition. I’m still tracking everything I eat (even if I occasionally go over my 1,640 calories a day goal) on SparkPeople, I still cook using mainly organic produce from Annie’s Buying Club, I’m bringing my lunch to work a minimum of three times a week, and I’m making better choices when I eat out.

I’m also rewarding myself with good books and pedicures for weight loss motivation and milestones. A little bribe never hurt, right?

Putting it all together like this feels good, and surprisingly simple. Not simple in the sense that all of this is easy, but s

imple in the way that making room for health and fitness isn’t nearly as difficult as I thought it would be once I decided this is a life-long priority for me and my family from now on.

Here’s to your healthy journey, too!

Next up… staying motivated and nutrition tidbits. In the meantime, stay tuned and be well…

I started this blog so that you can follow along, get inspired, or just commiserate. Tune in next time for more details at www.SlimmingWithSharks.wordpress.com. Don’t forget to subscribe for email updates!

 

Responses

  1. Congrats, Andra!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

